Learning to Crochet: Why?

Crochet has been a great benefit for me as I’ve grown up. My grandmother taught me how to crochet when I was ten, and it has helped me in more ways than just learning a new hobby. It has served as a stress and anxiety relief. It has also improved my fine motor skills. It has helped me take pride in something I worked hard to make.

When I eventually branched off on my own to improve my crocheting skills, I would often get frustrated in learning how to read patterns. It seemed that I could never interpret it right, and my projects would be lopsided. But with a bit of patience and trial-and-error, I got to where I am now. Now, I can make stuffed animals and scarves of all kinds of patterns.

IMG_1097
This is a giraffe I crocheted out of granny squares for my cousin who is currently going through chemo and radiation!

When my Nana taught me how to crochet, I learned because from a young age, I was curious to make something from my own hands like she did. I continue to crochet for the same reason. Even when my life gets incredibly busy and stressful, it is wonderful to set everything in the world to the side for a moment and take a little pride in a project that I made myself.

Crochet is also a very easy way to create gifts for friends and family that have a homemade touch. Nothing says “I love you” like a homemade stuffed animal or hat. You can even make pet toys or beds. The possibilities are endless!

Click here to learn more about the benefits of knitting and crocheting!

Post a comment: Why did you learn to crochet? And why did you stick with it? Or, if you don’t know how to already, why do you want to learn?

Pattern Credit: Heidi Bears Design Pattern found here: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/jedi-the-curious-giraffe-african-flower-crochet-pattern

Leave a Reply

